Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together, while others think that people and communities become more isolated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A major section of the society is of the opinion that online net access has brought communities nearer to each other, however, an equally strong lobby is of the opinion that individuals have become isolated due to this. I am of the view, that, although access to information on any subject has become easier and quicker, people often tend to overlook the significance of interpersonal communication and thus have become more secluded. Firstly, internet has opened up indefinite avenues of social interaction via various social networking sites. For instance, many among us are a part of some or the other group on websites like facebook, instagram, whats app etc. Texting messages on common interests has now become very common. Not only this, a plethora of information on all topics under the sun is available online, which keeps the society engaged and occupied. On the other hand, the extend of social interaction has decreased to a disturbingly low level. Wishing people online instead of giving them a phone call is a common example of this behaviour. Communities do not interact with each other in the manner they used to exchange information in days prior to the internet becoming popular. Instances of children wishing their parents on mother's day, father's day, their anniversaries or birthdays etc. has become an easy and convenient method of avoiding social responsibilities. This is effecting the mental health of many and cases of disturbed personality issues is slowing increadng in the lives of people. To conclude, I believe that technology is supposed to make our lives simpler and comfortable, however, on the contrary individuals and societies are now becoming slave to the technology. Hence, it is imperative to maintain a balance between living online and off line to ensure that adequate social support systems are maintained.