Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is argued that the high sales of popular consumer goods are due to the power of advertising and do not represent the real demand of people in society. However, in my opinion, the sales growth is dependent on advertising and also on consumer demand. On the one hand, I believe that the high sales are thanks to advertising because it is able to attract a large number of customers. First of all, advertising helps people access products much faster and easier. In fact, there are many people who cannot find products that meet their demand until they watch advertisements and know the goods. Besides, advertising takes advantage of the influence of celebrities by inviting them to participate in an advertisement. To be more specific, young people today seem to believe in the products that their idols advertise. Therefore, it will help to increase sales. On the other hand, I also argue that most people don't buy products just because of advertising. Firstly, people only buy when they really need it. In particular, in these difficult economic times, no one can easily spend a sum of money to pay for unnecessary things. Secondly, the high sales reflect the human need to always want to innovate. New versions of products almost always have improved features that buyers may want. For example, iPhone always has upgraded features in new versions that meet people's needs. Consequently, they are willing to buy products for their own needs. In conclusion, i myself hold a firm belief that the high sales depend not only on advertising but also on real consumer demand