car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam.' how true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, it has become a trend for everyone to own a personal vehicle, which has prominently resulted in the emerging traffic issues in big cities. I completely agree with this viewpoint that increasing number of cars ownership is the major reason of jams and hustle on roads. This essay will argue my perspective in details, and shall also discuss few measures that authorities can take to tackle this issue. To start with, undoubtedly, the demand for cars has risen to the peak in the last years because of reasons like more disposable income to spend on and a comfortable choice of lifestyle. Firstly, people have more income to spend on their own comfort and choices and thus, everyone finds their own vehicles more convenient to travel. Secondly, poor and inconvenient service of public transport is also the major reason to why people get influence to own their own cars. To elaborate, women travelling to office in overcrowded buses may not feel safe and, thus prefers to travel on their own. Hence, people are finding travelling safer and more convenient in their own vehicle which has resulted in traffic issues on roads. However, by correcting few flaws and taking strict measures government can convince the public to reduce the usage of cars. To start with, the government need to improvise the services of public transport so that people do not hesitate in using them. Timely services, cleanliness, increasing the number of local buses, buses and taxis can easily solve the issue. Furthermore, authorities can start few campaigns like sharing cars with colleagues and having not less than four persons sitting in a car will also be very beneficial to deal with the issue of traffic. To conclude, traffic is a visible issue in major cities and thus, it is high time for the government to take measures to deal with this problem. Also, as this problem is affecting each one of us, so as a responsible citizen we should make more use of public facilities and should take our own cars on the road only when it is required.