Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If taught many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion it is important for everyone to learn english? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, English has become a global language. It is spoken in almost every country and has helped in removing language barriers. However, people should learn their local language as well so that their culture continues in future also. To begin with, English is a compulsory subject in school since, it is the second most spoken language in the globe. Hence, it provides a child with ease of communication wherever he goes. For instance, if an American visits India and does not know how to speak Hindi even then he can talk to others in English, as a majority of the population is familiar with English. As a result of this, he can swiftly communicate with others without any hassle. On the contrary, maintaining the heritage of a particular civilization is vital to the values of the society. For this, language plays a prominent role. Through their local language humans can express themselves to their family and friends in a more affectionate way. To know about their traditions and history, learning the specific local language is important. For example, in China, it is mandatory for the students to learn the Chinese language apart from other languages. This assists in preserving the customs of the community. In my opinion, educational institutions should teach the local language with the same significance as they teach English. This would result in the overall development of a youngster as he would be able to safeguard his folklore in addition to studying the modern English language. He would take forward his rich patronage and spread awareness among the public with ease. To conclude, practising English and the local language should go hand in hand. Whatever may be the circumstances, an individual can fully understand and experience them.