Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime, while others feel that crime is being tackled effectively now. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Opinions regarding the efficacy of modern crime prevention approaches are divided. Some claim that adequate policies to constrain criminal activity are insufficient and need refinement, if not restructuring, while others claim that adequate policies currently exist. To clarify, incarceration is the primary form of punishment for most felons while fines, community service, and probation usually befit most convicted of misdemeanours. This essay will focus on punishment for felonious activity. Those who believe that current crime prevention models are insufficient cite statistics detailing the incessant existence and growth of crime rates. Such statistics show that many areas of crime are increasing – at best, they remain stagnant. If this is true, obvious conclusions at least include that current judiciary adjudication practices (namely incarceration) need improvement. First, the threat of modern incarceration is said to be inherently problematic: a) it may not effectively deter those seemingly predisposed toward criminal activity and b) it may not effectively deter whimsical criminal activity of those otherwise non-criminally minded. Second, lengthy exposure to prison often produces convicts who become psychologically traumatized, more aggressive, and more inclined to reoffend. Therefore, it is believed, prison confinement cannot be optimal in addressing crime. Nonetheless, others claim that current models, especially incarceration, addressing criminal punishment are sufficient. Rehabilitation is given as a primary justification. Prisoners have access to many forms of rehabilitation which include vocational training, various types and denominations of religious services, and a prolonged time for contemplation on their wrongdoings. Vocational training offers potential employment upon release while religious exposure and contemplation offer reflection, edification, and potential redemption. In addition, prison protects society from offenders at least while they are incarcerated. Hence, regarding felonies, it is believed incarceration is both justified and necessary. In conclusion, crime prevention strategies are debatable, arguably non-unifiable, and inherently problematic. Nonetheless, many such strategies, especially incarceration, are historically universal, arguably irreplaceable, and arguably necessary. If other means of preventing crime can be developed and proven effective then society will benefit. At present, incarceration is necessary, but not sufficient.