Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

It is thought by some individuals that some criminals can do free community services instead of putting them in jail. In my opinion, doing community work can help criminals change to be better faster than in prison, and helps local authorities to save on taxpayers money. First of all, doing free community work can help prisoners who did not commit serious crimes like murders or sexual offense change quickly to be better persons, because they would interact with other good people in the society, and they would learn new things that will help them change. Moreover, doing community services means that there is a commitment in terms of time and efforts, because such services are arranged by starting and ending times every day. From that, prisoners would learn to commit to the society. For example, prisoners who are sentenced for short jail periods for small crimes can be punished by cleaning streets or gardening. Another good point for making prisoners to do unpaid community service is that we separate them from interfering and contacting with other dangerous criminals in jails, because they would have bad impact on them and they would change to the worse. For instance, a criminal who failed to pay his cheques on time would interact with a murderer or alcohol addict and learn from them. In addition to that, the authorities will need less jails and resources to occupy those prisoners, which helps saving money on taxpayers. In conclusion, to help criminals change faster to the better, and to save money on the society, making criminals doing unpaid community services is the best and more beneficial way to achieve that.