some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

People are calling into question the importance of advertising. Although some people believe that advertising plays a pivotal role in tempting people to purchase different products, others are of the opinion that advertising is so common to encourage people for buying things. While both sides consistent with valid arguments, from my point of view, the second opinion is more convincing. On the one hand, there are some contributing factors behind advertising that are of importance in encouraging people to purchase products. That is, enlarging the positive and negative aspects of products seems to be effective encouragement. More specifically, organizing the advantages and disadvantages of commodities, advertising would provide a great opportunity for customers to make a judicious decision about various products. Consider Canon company that has a great reputation for producing fine quality cameras as an example; they can convey the favourable and unsatisfying aspects of each camera through advertising and help customers to make a comparison between their choices. Moreover, advertising is a way of encouragement that can manipulate customers to become compulsive buyers. As a matter of fact, people would be manipulated to follow the fad and new trends that are highly unlikely to be the essential requirements. Hence, they would be just affected by the essential power of advertisements. On the other hand, some other factors would make people reluctant to watch advertisements. Firstly, it is the repetition that would make people unwilling to spend their precious time watching advertisements. More explicitly, the more time people be exposed to a repetitive advertisement, the more the sense of dissatisfaction would be enhanced among viewers. To illustrate, watching a special advertisement for several times in succession before interesting TV shows would act as a deterrent for people to pay attention to them. Consequently, people are bound to change the channel in order to save time. Furthermore, nowadays the outdated method of advertising is not attractive anymore. To put it differently, people usually show a tendency to watch interesting graphical visions rather than watching classical advertisements. Therefore, that is the reason that makes people demotivated to pay attention to the old and ordinary advertisements. To conclude, according to the above analysis, in spite of the fact that advertising is of critical importance in persuading customers to buy their needs, from my perspective, people are unwilling to pay attention to advertisements. This is mainly because not only are advertisements repetitive, but they also are outdated and dissatisfying.