Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

Nowadays, an aging of society has advanced all over the world. Some insist that many elderly people look for jobs, and they have become rivals of youngsters. In this essay, I am going to discuss problems caused by this change and examine possible ways to address it. To begin with, there are two problems caused by this. Firstly, the employment rate of the younger generation decreases. Since seniors are superior to the younger generation in terms of knowledge and experiences, youngsters are unlikely to outcompete them with regard to employment. In fact, the unemployment rate of new graduates has been increasing for a decade in Japan. In addition to this, labour costs also matter. In general, employees get a higher salary as they get older in Japan, despite their abilities drop. Therefore, the amount of labour costs increases as long as they continue to employ seniors. On top of that, there are two possible solutions. At first, the government or companies have better introduce the quota system. For example, managers are able to decide the number of new employees from new grads and retirees in each year. It helps to protect the share of employment for new graduates and youths, as well as old people. Furthermore, it also effective that declining salaries for people age of 65 and over. As a consequence, they less likely to apply for jobs, and companies hardly suffer from expenses issue. This is a reasonable change because it is evident that one's ability to execute tasks drop as one gets older. To conclude, there are two problems caused by this change which are raising the unemployment rate among youths and increasing labour costs. To solve this, authorities should quota the proportions of recruitments, and reduce payments for seniors.