In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

Nowadays, a small number of youngsters show interest in playing and listening to classical music. It creates less enthusiasm in the young generation due to its slowness and complexity. This essay will argue why young guns should not be forced to perform the classical melody. Instead, they might be given the freedom to play according to their preference. To begin with, the classical melody appears to be slow in nature. Moreover, acquiring knowledge about playing classical music seems to be overcomplicated. In other words, since learning and performing classical tune is comparatively difficult, young learners do not find any encouragement to be trained in it. For instance, ‘Raag’ music, one of the popular classical tunes in the Indian sub-continent, can be performed after complying with strict rules and doing arduous practice. However, The Raag is not famous to the present audiences because of its slow pattern. Thus, the young generation has lost their interest in performing classical music owing to its complicacy and unpopularity among the current listeners. Addressing the issues associated with classical music, young musicians should not be compelled to learn or play classical music as it can not bring any better for them. To elaborate, as classical melody does not provide recreation to the singers, as well as the audiences, performing or playing it will not create any opportunities to earn money or fame. For example, if a young individual learns Raag music for the present audience, he will not get any rewards due to the less popularity of this tune. Therefore, young learners should give the independence to choose music according to their own desire rather than forcing them to play the classical melody. In conclusion, classical music has lost its popularity among the young generation owing to its learning complexities and unpopularity to the listeners. For this reason, it is argued that there is no necessity for pursuing youngsters for learning this obsolete classical music.