Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The purpose of education is multifaceted. False dichotomies couching functions of societal institutions, namely education, as mutually exclusive are inane. Pedagogical functions can include educating individuals in both a duty to society and a duty to oneself. Utilitarian principles are arguably necessary for a cohesive society with the caveat being that they are not authoritarian, absolute mandates. Egalitarianism and altruism are fundamental characteristics of an enlightened individual and should be promoted in educational institutions. Societal members, at least tacitly agree to a social contract in that they are bound by certain societal conventions, thus being morally obligated to contribute or ‘be useful’ for society. Although who and what determines ‘useful for society ’ is debatable (and rife with obvious inherent contradictions and dangers), a reasonable interpretation should include the pursuit of virtues such as lawful behaviour, self-sacrifice, and a sense of responsibility toward ‘the other’ and toward societal unity. However, although utilitarian considerations are necessary for a fully functional, congruous society, they are not sufficient and if left unrestrained, are potentially harmful – radical utilitarianism would be counterproductive, if not highly destructive. Therefore, the rights of the individual are also paramount and must be considered. Within the boundaries of tacit social contract obligation, the autonomy of the individual must be balanced with the rights of the group. Hence, educational institutions should also promote the pursuit of individualistic ambitions. It is the responsibility of the individual to mitigate inherent conflict and balance personal with societal needs. In conclusion, neither radical egalitarianism nor radical individualism are desirable. A duty to society and a duty to oneself are not mutually exclusive but rather are compatible, should be balanced, and educational institutions should reinforce the utility of both.