The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The use of private vehicles has increased tremendously around the world resulting in increased congestion levels and air pollution. Serious steps are ought to be taken for encouraging people to use public transportation instead of private cars to improve air quality. People should be given incentives on using public transport, they should be offered subsidies on different routes around the city, public transport should be made more efficient than private vehicles and government should organize seminars as a joint effort in communities to encourage the use of public transport. One possible way to motivate society to use public transport is by giving them incentives when they commute over government transport. People would definitely prefer travelling by bus or tube if there is some kind of reward or benefit involved. A step further in a similar direction would be to give subsidies on various routes around and in between the cities. The relative fair difference in public and private conveyance would definitely encourage people to use public transportation. Moreover, to make public transport widely acceptable among the masses, the government should elevate the standards. For example, a dedicated route for rails,tubes and buses would help reach the destination faster. The entire journey should be smooth and modern as per industry standards for people to consider it over their own private vehicle. Furthermore, the government should organize seminars with local bodies across different communities to educate people on the benefits of using public transport, how it’s more economical and advanced than their private conveyance and how they can use it to their benefit. In conclusion, to inverse the poor quality of life in cities, the government should work together with people to ensure effective use of public transport over private cars which will eventually help curb the decreasing air indices.