Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different views with regard to the question of how to provide safety on roads. I believe that rather than applying severe punishments, more workable methods can be used to promote safe driving and minimize road traffic accidents. The supporters of strict punishments for drivers believe that this may help to encourage people to drive more safely. According to them, such measures as imposing heavy fines on drivers can prevent them from repeating driving offences since this will be a financial burden on their budgets. Thus, they will probably obey rules and traffic accidents decrease. The proponents of this view also believe that sentencing law-breaking drivers or suspending their driving license will also deter them from avoiding traffic rules. It is supposed that drivers will not risk freedom or license because of broken rules. However, I believe that there is no need to punish drivers severely because there are more effective alternative ways. The main reason is that governmental authorities should not punish but educate people by helping them understand traffic rules better. The significance of intensive and long-term driving license exam preparations cannot be overlooked. A case in point is the three-step exam system and compulsory training even after obtaining a license that was applied in some states of Canada. Drivers refreshed their knowledge, and, as a result, traffic accidents caused by drivers reduced notably, which was significantly more effective than heavily fining or sentencing Canadian drivers: the latter methods led to such negative results as bribery. Another way is to organize training programs for frequent offenders of traffic rules. Such a method is particularly effective in order to explain such drivers how their actions may lead to negative consequences such as the death of people. In conclusion, in order to promote safe driving and limit road accidents, it is important to teach drivers to obey road rules and organize strict driving examinations. Punishments can be partly effective and may lead to some negative consequences.