Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Friends are important people in our lives, and our friendship often defines what type of person we are. When it comes to choosing companions, there are contrasting views. Some believe our friends should always agree with us, while others prefer to have pals who sometimes differ on important issues. This essay aims to explore both perspectives and argue that it is better to have friends who sometimes disagree with us. Those who think that we should select friends who share the same viewpoint that we possess believe this way, we can have similar-minded people around us and avoid conflicts. We all have our own points of view, and no matter how progressive we think we are when someone opposes our viewpoint - be it as important as political, cultural or religious, or as simple as a holiday destination or a cinema to watch, we tend to start disliking this person. This is why having people who share the same interests, points of view, vision and belief systems as our friends not only makes our lives more enjoyable but also helps us avoid altercations and serious arguments. For instance, from my experience, I can say that most people like to spend more time with people who agree with their direction and ideas and avoid those who have contrasting ideas. On the contrary, those who advocate for having pals with sometimes contrasting opinions believe it helps us look at matters from a different perspective. For instance, when one of my uncles chose to migrate to Latvia a few years ago, one of his friends opposed his idea and persuaded him to go to Canada instead. After a few years, the latter idea was proven to be a far better choice. Moreover, when friends express different visions on important issues, we tend to hear their arguments and look at things from a different perspective. This helps us grow as a person and opens new windows of options that we can consider carefully for ourselves. In my opinion, having friends who sometimes give bold and honest views that may contradict our ideas, is a far better choice than having pals who always agree with us. In conclusion, friends are important in our lives and have a great influence on the way think and behave. Therefore, we should choose pals carefully considering what types of friends would be more helpful for us and whose companionship we would enjoy. Personally, I think that we should select friends who sometimes have contrasting visions to ours as it benefits us more.