Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, throughout the world, studying the English language has become more significant than studying their native languages. So many native languages are endangered to extinct if we don't teach them to children. In my opinion, studying English is essential, but, we should not neglect to learn our local languages. Furthermore, there are so many ways that help the survival of local languages. Firstly, studying English is crucial because of so many reasons like, it is the first language that was spoken by many people throughout the globe, it is the national language of so many countries in the world, etc. A recent study, made by Stanford University student's reveals that more than a 360million people on this planet speak English. The majority of them are non-native speakers. In addition, English has become the most basic communication language on earth. Secondly, studying native languages is also necessary because they experience the endanger of extinction if not in use. In India, for example, there are more than 500 languages spoken in 1950 but according to the latest, statistics the number of languages spoken by 120 million has been decreased to 121 languages in 2020. All this is because of not giving priority to our native language. To tackle this problem governments have to launch new programmes like making the native language a compulsory subject in their curriculum, encouraging cinema producers to make movies in their native languages by providing good rewards to the movies which are best, educating the people by telling the importance of the language etc. In conclusion, English is essential because it helps people to get jobs anywhere in the world. However, native languages cannot be ignored as they are a treasure for the upcoming generations.