some students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that learners get fruitful results if they receive prizes instead of punishments. I agree with this viewpoint but I believe that in some cases beating is genuine. To begin with, there are many reasons behind this, the primary one is that rewards act as a motivation for tutees, for the sake of this, they burn the midnight oil to achieve more and more valuable prizes and it will result into as a boon for their entire life because they learn about the importance of work. For example, my cousin is in 6th standard and last year he got a prize for his academic performance and by getting this appreciation he got galvanise now he is doing a lot of preparation for attaining the first position in his class. In addition to it, with the help of small awards, weak students also start participating in activities according to their taste and this gives them the feeling of equality. For example, in Canadian schools, school members give gifts to all participants and it generates a sense of superiority and they try to give their hundred per cent. On the other hand, if students do unnecessary mistakes, then abuse is compulsory for their better performance. For example, as per the survey conducted by the Indian Education Minister and he concluded that some students were not very serious about their studies but after giving physical torture they do better and it is also beneficial for their holistic development. To conclude, although prizes act as a motivation booster, minor scolding can have some results.