Being a celebrity can bring benefits and problems at the same time. To what extent do you agree on this statement?

In the past few decades, there has been a profound increase in the number of individuals who have been questioning the morality of stars, superstars and idols. On one side of the spectrum, there are people that believe celebrities cannot be influential and have problems. However, others, myself included, oppose this idea and instead believe, there are both advantages and disadvantages of being a famous personality. To begin, there is an argument to be made that being a celebrity can be extremely influential to society, they can help in raising awareness of important issues affecting our world today. To exemplify, during the pandemic many celebrities such as actors, football players used social media to urge people to wear masks and get the vaccination. This idea stems from the fact that the public idolises celebrities and seeing their favourite player in mask and post-vaccine will undoubtedly encourage the general public to follow the footsteps of a celebutante. Nonetheless, despite the benefits of being famous, there is a growing body of evidence that suggests that there are also drawbacks of being in the public eye. To illustrate, one of the negative effects of fame is lack of privacy this is because in the twenty- firstfirst century every person carries a phone with a camera, so not only paparazzi but also a common person is aware of a celebrity's location. A known personality is unable to do things that an average person can do. What is more, such behaviour can have a devasting negative effect on celebrity's mental health. When taking into consideration these side effects of being famous, it is hardly surprising that it has fuelled from pap-culture and the general public that belief they need to see everything a celeb is doing. To conclude the aforementioned discussion, while some are under the impression that becoming a household name is all glamorous and positive, others, including myself, strongly believe that along with benefits there are also negatives of being a famous person.