Some people believe that schools are no longer necessary because students can study well at home through the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has made it convenient for students the young to gain knowledge at home; therefore, studying at school is regarded as unnecessary by some people. I totally disagree with this view and here are reasons for it. First of all, studying at school contributes to the educational equity. There is no doubt that learning online makes students available to plenty of academic resources, educational tutoring provided by high-qualified teachers and other learning networking websites. However, for those children living in poor areas, studying totally based on internet causes a large financial burden and there are not enough facilities to support this way of leaning, which means that face-to-face education at school still is the easiest and most cost-effective way for them to acquire knowledge. Additionally, compared with distance education, school provides students with much more than academic help. Well-experienced teachers at school are more likely to train students to be well-bonded persons and teach them plenty of social graces, such as how to respect their peers, strengthen the bond with others and do well in teamwork. What is more, studying at the school does great help in keeping students concentrating on their work. It’s widely believed that, without supervision, the younger generation tends to abandon themselves and become addicted to electronic games when surfing the internet, which will lead to unsatisfactory grades and mental problems, or even juvenile delinquency. Teaching staff at school play an increasingly critical role in preventing them from game addiction. For example, taking the phone to the school is usually forbidden. In conclusion, studying at school is considered as a better choice compared with studying online, especially for students who are relatively not very rich and self-controlled.