In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. What do you think is this? What do you think can be learned from this?

As global wealth increases, there has been a surprising decrease in reported levels of satisfaction in developed countries. In my opinion, it is due to the fact that lifestyle changes and it teaches that money is merely a baseline requirement for having peace of mind. The main reason individuals in wealthy nations are less happy today relates to how people live. In the past, people had fewer free time options and the practice led to more time being outside and socializing. In other words, modern lifestyles are predicated around isolation. For example, the average worker or student after a long day is likely to spend at least a few hours watching movies on Netflix, messaging friends, checking social media, and listening to music. These 21st-century habits would seemingly elicit content feelings, yet they are in fact a passive means of achieving low levels of pleasure. In aggregate, the minimum threshold of commitment pales in comparison to more substantial activities. The lesson from the development is that affluence is only the foundation of self-contentment. Wealth, instead, serves to guarantee basic necessities, and the feeling of entail other elements, such as the sense of belonging to a larger society. It is clearly seen in nations that score high on happiness surveys in Northern Europe. Individuals in these countries tend to feel they are part of a community that requires active engagement. These societies prioritise involvement with others and community responsibility, thus shun the insular hobbies that have led to dissatisfaction in other nations. In conclusion, lower levels of happiness are due to modern ways of living and they illustrate the relative importance of wealth. The understanding from this is that possession does not solely translate to being satisfied in life, and social acceptance can play a vital role in an individual's state of happiness.