Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the number of tourists has been increasing, thanks to the development of transportations. Some people insist that local people are hindered by them, while others claim that the economy of travelled counties has been expanded. In this essay, I am going to discuss both sides of the argument and examine the reason why I believe the drawbacks outweigh the merits. To begin with, there are two several reasons why people believe tourism is important. Firstly, it is the huge source of income. In fact, the annual income of tourism in Italy was around 52 billion USD in 2018, and it accounted for 15 per cent of its GDP. Likewise, Mexico is also famous for the tourism nation, and around 18 per cent of its GDP was came from tourism. Furthermore, the income from export increase as well. When a country become popular, people from all over the world want goods and services, and hence the competitiveness will go up. On the other hand, a certain proportion of people insist that expand of tourism has negative impacts for two reasons. At first, visitors from overseas hinder local communities. For example, the Japanese tend to use public space neatly. However, foreigners sometimes litter and mess up. In fact, the usage of restrooms becomes a problem in Japan. On top of that, there are serious problems regarding religions. In some parts of the world, people value religions, while others do not. This cultural difference cause a huge issue. For instance, tourists invade religious buildings, such as shrines, and they sometimes hinder an important ritual. To conclude, I assume that both sides of the argument have merits. However, I think there are more negative aspects than positive effects. This is because tourists may hinder inhabitant lives and violate religious rituals.