Smoking tobacco is becoming increasingly popular among young people, with potentially serious effects on their health. Explain some reasons for this problem and suggest some possible solutions.

In recent times, more and more people have started to smoke tobacco. Every pack of tobacco comes with a warning that smoking is injurious to health. Nevertheless, folks ignore it all the time. This essay discusses some of the reasons for this issue and a few possible solutions. To begin with, there has been a rise in the popularity of smoking among youth because of peer pressure. When a child is part of a group of children who smoke, eventually he also gets into the habit of smoking in the fear that he might lose his friends. Moreover, the busy routine of parents does not allows them to keep a check on their children frequently. For instance, a parent who leaves early for work and returns home late at night would have no idea of what his child does the whole day or what kind of bad habits he is getting into. Additionally, the ease of availability is also one of the reasons for an increase in the smokers population. To avoid this major issue the government should step forward and take some severe measures such as increasing the minimum age limit for smoking. Further, the officials should make it mandatory for the shop owners to first verify the age of a person from his ID and then only sell tobacco to that person. In case a shopkeeper does not follow this rule, he should be penalised. Moreover, public awareness campaigns can help in dealing with this problem. According to me, parents should also try to spend more time with their children to be aware of their activities and enlighten them of the negative effects that smoking may have on them. To conclude, people should take their health seriously and not get trapped in the smoking addiction.