Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Many businesses have discovered that new employees often lack communication skills. This can be attributed to an excessive focus on professional skills in college and a weak foundation in the language since childhood. These issues can be resolved through extensive reforms in the education system. The primary focus of most colleges and universities is to train students for technical tasks. There are almost no teachers and courses in communication skills since these are considered irrelevant for engineers, accountants, and doctors. Consequently, many fresh graduates have no idea how to communicate with their colleagues. Moreover, the education system from elementary studies to university focus on science and mathematics as these subject are supposed to build careers. Languages, which for the core of communication skills, are considered mere necessary evils that need to be crammed. The students prefer to just pass the exams in English, French, German and Latin and are expected to excel in sciences. This creates a poor foundation for communication skills and most new employees find it impossible to talk to their teammates. I think this issue can only be resolved through a radical restructuring of the education system. Boards of education, such as the CBSE in India, along with schools and teachers need to inform students and parents about the utility of communication in building strong careers. Moreover, the courses in literature should be made more interactive so that the students abandon the habit of cramming. This can be done through videos and role-plays. Colleges should allocate subjects dedicated to improving the speaking, writing, listening and reading skills of students. They should be encouraged to write letters, essays on contemporary topics. In conclusion, the problem of poor communication skills has cropped up due to the extreme focus on technical skills and poor foundation in literature. This can be solved through the active collaboration of educational institutions, teachers, parents, and students.