The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary epoch, retaining the personal data of a vast population by prominent internet corporate firms and organisations is burning concerns worldwide. While some people reckon that it offers many benefits, others argue that it has serious drawbacks. This essay asserts that its demerits supersede its merits. On the one hand, holding individuals private information by any company without their knowledge and consent is a sheer breach of individual rights in this globalised world. Also, it might pose a severe threat to humanity. For example, if personal information hacked by hackers and other antisocial groups, they could use it to fulfil their evil intentions. Besides, hackers might trade this into the black market and used it for international fraud, and victims have no clue until the police approach them. Furthermore, companies might use data to send targeted marketing, credit and loan evaluation, medical research, and crime analysis for financial benefit. On the other hand, some people believe that it has manifold advantages to humankind. It helps to understand human psychology to colossal internet companies to render better customer experience according to their savour and keeping the internet essentially free at the point of entry. In addition, it would be a win-win situation for both firms and users. For instance, while companies derive profits by offering service to broader communities, people can save time and purchase goods and services of their preferences. However, it could adversely affect buying unnecessary things and squandering most of the productive time surfing online. In conclusion, although it certainly benefits numerous human to provide better service by comprehending their personality traits, it has grave concerns over individual privacy data of using against them. It seems that it has more cons than pros.