Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

To have criminals punished, prisons are believed to be the best option. I partially agree with this idea that the best punishment for criminals is prison as my own perspective is that it forces them to experience both mental and physical sufferings, as well as guilt; however, prisons are not the best. The first reason why I am on the side of this idea is that prisons make villains feel anguish and isolated. Having been staying behind bars for years, they cannot live freely or do things they want but obey the guards’ rules, leading to irritation. Moreover, not only in prisons, but also when criminals are free, it is challenging for them to reintegrate into the community because people do not want to socialize with those who have criminal records. Only by having been behind bars, criminals can feel isolation. However, prisons are not the best punishment due to its limitations. Some criminals who have been released are still inclined to relapse. Furthermore, citizens’ taxes contributing to improving prisons are so wasteful that those people are raising the outlaws. Therefore, although prisons make criminals undergo punishment, they are not the best option. In conclusion, I just agree with this idea partially. I firmly suggest that criminals should be incarcerated in order to undergo anguish and isolation, but prisons should not be regarded as the best punishment.