A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, the population has become highly materialistic. People value others on the basis of their living standards and the status they have in the society. Admiring the principles of one's behaviour is secondary in today's time. I totally agree with this statement justifying the reasons in the following paragraphs. To begin with, it is crucial for the individuals to buy expensive stuff so that they are able to mark their presence in the territory. For instance, according to a study, majority of the teenagers purchase things that they do not need in the first place, to remain a part of their social group or under peer pressure. Moreover, the talented section which belongs to the poor class is not given the respect they deserve. To exemplify, in India, a sports person who had won in Olympics, later worked on the roadside for bread and butter because he did not had enough funds to proceed further and therefore, was not treated with courtesy. In addition to the above, the folks have evolved as money minded and greedy. For example, as per a survey done by university students, they concluded that approximately 70 percent of the peeps make friends on the basis of their earnings. The higher the income, the bigger the social circle is. In my opinion, a person should be analysed on the basis of his nature instead of the objects he owns. Furthermore, when a human dies, he is remembered for his good deeds rather than for the exorbitant articles he had in his name. To conclude, it is always the virtuous work that pays off. Hence, the public should focus on their conduct and act politely.