Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

Imbalance in work and personal life is a common phenomenon in the modern world. Stress related to work and longer working hours at the office play a major role in it. This essay will discuss some key reasons behind this increasing anxiety regarding work -life and outline some potential solutions to it. There are several factors that cause stress and anxiety to the employees. One of them is the companies’ policies for cost-cutting. Nowadays, for the purpose of lowering the management cost companies are preferring to hire newly trained professionals rather than keeping an old experienced employee as the remuneration of the latter would be much higher. Old teachers of a school in London, for example, have said in a study conducted by McGill University that with getting experienced in their job they face insecurity as they witness their colleagues getting fired due to the stringency in the budget. Another reason behind the increasing stress at work is long work hours, which at times are unreasonable or humanly possible. In Mcdonalds & Subway, for example, the staff are forced to stay beyond their working hours to satisfy their customers and bosses to earn a minimum living wage. Clearly, these result in tremendous pressure on the employees. Although not all of the aforementioned causes can be handled easily, there are certain measures that can be taken by employers to ensure their workers have a better work environment. The management has to have the willingness to listen to the problems of their subordinates with an open mind. Taking their suggestions and making necessary changes to help the staff work in a better workspace have a definite impact on productivity. Adding to this, mental wellness camp can be organised intermittently by the companies. By this, the employees will have a better way deal with the work -related stress. In conclusion, due to the crisis in the job market, the competition is much higher nowadays and to survive in a job is way harder than before. Such issues, however, can be dealt with cooperation and communication from both the employer and the employees.