Write about the following topic: “Do you think extra-curricular activities are important in a student’s life?” Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays, many educational institutions have extra activities such as sports or community works. Additional activities can facilitate both, physical and mental development; however, a wrong approach may cause some drawbacks. In this essay, I will address the advantages and disadvantages of extra-curricular activities. Convincing arguments can be made that additional activities are important in a student's life. Firstly, they make studies more interesting and fun. For example, I had swimming as my extra classes at school, I used to count days to the next swimming activities and all my studies were associated with something exciting. Additionally, sports, as extra activities facilitate a comprehensive learning environment where students are physically and mentally healthy. Meanwhile, I believe that these activities should be chosen by students. The reason for this is that all children are unique and have different interests. While some students enjoy exploring science, others would rather prefer to do sports. Lastly, children's social skills may be fostered during teamwork. Alternatively, extra activities may disrupt children from their studies. More specifically, children are already overwhelmed with school subjects, they barely have enough time to do their homework. Consequently, more pressure at school would make their lives stressful. A feasible solution for school authorities would be to find a balance between the main curriculum and additional. For instance, a school curriculum can have a teamwork activity in a foreign language rather than an English language lesson. To sum up, I would concede that additional activities may attract children from their main curriculum. Despite that, extra activities can make studying interesting and enjoyable.