Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, because of the improvement of technology, individuals became able to take many kinds of transportations. Therefore, what types of vehicle do they want to take is depends on the individuals. When it comes to the argument that whether the government should concentrate on improving railways or roads, I tend to agree with the former. In the following essay, I would argue both sides. First of all, railways are able to transport a plethora of passengers and commodities. As a consequence, there are merits that the risk of traffic jam will decrease, and the price of the goods will be cheaper. For example, in Tokyo, Japan, the metro is well developed and many people use it rather than cars; therefore, the traffic jam hardly occurs in the city. Furthermore, as trains can convey numerous commodities at a time, it enables producers to cut the cost of transportation. To sum up, there are merits of improving railways. Second of all, on the other hand, there might be an area that is not suitable for constructing the lines. For instance, because the government did not know that the ground in a particular area in Osaka was too soft and not suitable for making the rail lines, the road has been subsided. As it is in the area that there are many houses, the residents get into trouble. Thus, the government should check its safety before investing in construction. In my conclusion, I believe that investing in rail lines is beneficial; thus, I tend to agree with the premise. However, its suitability should be considered beforehand.