First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing the position. To what extent do you agree?

Some professionals believe that the best way for a job searcher to guarantee a job is to do well in the first interview. In my opinion, first impressions should not be essential in selecting job candidates for jobs after interviews because some applicants may lie in an interview for the sake of getting the job, or some individuals may not be prepared for an interview, therefore may not do well from the first time. As employers and HR in their companies are finding it hard to select a candidate for a job because of the increased number of job applicants in any job vacancy, they rely on first impression in interviews to filter candidates and then select the right one. However, this method may have some drawbacks because some candidates may fake their reactions and show things that are not true, just to convince the employers that they deserve to win the job. Moreover, job candidates may be selected without following the hiring process. For example, a good-looking candidate who speaks in a nice way would be selected for these reasons, ignoring the other factors an interviewer must take in consideration. Another reason for that is that not all applicants do well in first interviews, some gets confused and others get nervous and stressed. Therefore, they give bad impression to job interviewers, despite the fact that they are qualified and fits for the vacancy. For instance, some people have a phobia from interviews so they do not show their best. To conclude, although some individuals believe that first impression in interviews is vital to be selected for job. I totally disagree with this opinion because a job interviewer may be impressed by the look of a candidate over his qualifications, or a candidate may not do well because of the fear of interview.