Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Food industry has become an important matter in a country. Several foods are imported from other countries and some people believe that consuming local food is advantageous regarding the environment and financially. Even though there are two considerable perspectives, I believe advantages of having foods commercialised outweigh downsides. To begin with, hardly are the countries where is feasible to produce various nutritious food. Some places do not have a fertile soil neither enough source of water. These aspects are highly important to have a prosperous agriculture, therefore they must import some vegetables, for instance. More than that, commercialising certain commodities plays an important role in a country’s economy. In Brazil, for instance, a considerable amount of the nation’s annual income comes from several commodities which are shipped worldwide such as beans, orange and meat. Consequently, a food industry is highly developed locally which may attract investment ad provide countless of jobs. On the other hand, some disadvantages need to be considerable. Since an aliment is imported, its price tends to be unaffordable by local community and more money they need to spend to eat. Normally the government applies higher taxes to imported goods, which also contributes to the final price. The final consumer who is buying a product will pay for all costs. Furthermore, to achieve exportation requirements, the industry needs to invest into soil exploitation, and it does not contribute to the local ecosystem. Unfortunately, goods shipping might be the most important country’s source of income, however this behaviour may give the soil unprecedented damage and perhaps, making it useless. Hence to conclude, although there are considerable disadvantages of food shipment and its massive industry, I believe that advantages overcome all negatives consequences and each country must seek variation of aliments to its population as well as an industry development that contributes to broad employment.