Nowadays the way modern society is developing is being shaped by people’s migration to large cities. In what ways is migration to large cities affecting society? Is this a positive or negative development?

Over the last few decades, there has been a massive migration of people from the countryside to the main cities. Even though the reasons behind this phenomenon are logical and understandable, if authorities do not take action soon, the consequences in terms of inequality might be insurmountable. This essay will outline the main causes for this behaviour and how it is affecting modern societies. There are several reasons why people choose to settle in urban areas these days, with the lack of job opportunities at the top of the rank. While in the countryside the offer is limited and not very profitable, the main cities are shown as a world of variety and economic welfare. As a consequence, loads of regional workers take the risk of leaving their lives behind in the chase of a better life. In addition, the young are demanding high education which is only available in urban areas. Research shows that an important fraction of those who once moved to the city to continue their education tend to remain there after graduation. The principal consequence of this exodus is the unstoppable growth of urban areas, increasing pollution, and damaging the environment surrounding. With affordable accommodation in high demand, marginal suburbs are rapidly overcrowded and therefore, construction materials and methods are far from being eco-friendly. On the other hand, financial well-being is not easy to get. As the competition increases, employers can lower the wages and still get workers for their companies. As a result, many families would not be able to satisfy their basic needs, boosting inequality and poverty. In conclusion, I believe that for migration not to be a problem, there has to be quick and long-term support for new families when settling in the cities. If governments do not address this issue soon, consequences might be impossible to reverse.