We live in world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problem in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages. To what extent do you agree?

Technological advancement these days has paved the way for globalization and one of the prime examples of this development is the internet. While the internet has profited the masses, some people consider the challenges that it brings supersedes its advantages. In my opinion, although data theft and privacy is a concerning issue, this does not undermine the benefits which the internet offers. Admittedly, as much as people have benefited from the internet, it has also opened the door for data privacy and thefts. Hackers can easily access the servers of companies and can hack precious data, which in most cases is only recovered after paying a hefty ransom. Moreover, identity theft and financial frauds on the internet are leading examples registered under the data privacy and security threats. For instance, I myself like many other people have been a victim of such vicious acts. These sorts of incidents are not only financially damaging for an individual, but they also leave a serious dent in the psychological well-being of a person. On the contrary, there are countless benefits of the internet at the Micro and Macro levels. Firstly, it has massively helped to increase the communication between the countries that has led to new ways of doing business. Numerous companies are now able to export their services to the international circuit and serve their clients. To illustrate, I.T sector in Pakistan in 2019, through its export services, contributed to 7% of the country’s GDP growth. Secondly, the internet has helped people to connect with each other via social media. Through this platform, people can not only communicate with each other in lighting speed, but social-media marketing has assisted in tremendous growth for small and medium scale businesses. In addition, those individuals who were unemployed internet has helped them to earn their bread and butter via free-lancing services. In conclusion, even though, data security is one of the major challenges, but that does not dampen the massive benefits that the internet offers. Through implementing strict data privacy laws and policies and educating the masses, these challenges and threats can be eradicated.