Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Education plays a pivotal role in moulding one’s life. However, numerous schools and universities give more weightage to science subjects in this contemporary epoch than recreational activities. This essay asserts that it is undoubtedly negative growth and should be given equal importance to drama and literature. First and foremost, subjects other than science are essential for the overall development of students. For example, while studying physics, chemistry, biology helps pupils excel in academics, drama and literature bring out the hidden talents of an individual. On the other hand, if education institutions focus more on science -related topics, students might get bored and eventually lose interest. Also, recreational activities boost a person’s creativity. Moreover, it is a great tool to express thought for the welfare of society. Hence, it certainly plays a crucial role in forming pupil’s lives. On the flip side, several educational bodies are of the thought that emphasises solely only science. They argue that imparting this knowledge will help pupils have better job opportunities and proper career growth. However, it is not valid for every person. For instance, many children are exceptionally good at arts, and if given a chance, they might become expert in this domain. Furthermore, they would become more responsible and dutiful citizens when they grow up. In conclusion, although science is of paramount importance because of its tangible benefits, recreational activities are unquestionably prominent factors to imbibe personality traits such as kindness, compassion, empathy, and sympathy. Nevertheless, it seems that academia should adopt a balanced approach by rendering quality weightage to science and literature alike.