Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Throughout history, criminal activities have been invariably one of the most vexing problems to deal with. Nowadays, with a view to declining the incidence of crime, it is proposed that people committing crimes ought to be punished with longer jail time. From my perspective, I do not subscribe to this school of thought. Granted, the government in different countries in the world has passed new legislation against lawless behaviours by increasing jail time for criminals with an aspiration that criminal activities would be curbed and from that, reducing the crime rate. However, this hope is unrealistic because,in recent years, the incidence of crime does not show the sign of declining regardless of a stricter punishment. Take America as an example. This nation is one of the ones enforcing the most stringent criminal laws, therefore, criminals will be punished with extremely long jail time if they violate those laws but lawless behaviours are still occurring, posing potential and dire threats to America's social order. In addition, many types of research have proved that one of the best panaceas for staving illegal actions off is raising people’s awareness of the negative consequences of becoming a criminal. It should be known that if they get involved in crime -committed types such as drug trafficking or homicide, they will forfeit the basic rights of a citizen including spending time with their family members or not having the chances to move up their career ladders. I strongly believe that this solution is aimed at the general people’s minds when they do not want to lose things that belong to them, consisting of family and career. In conclusion, with all the reasons mentioned above, I suppose that it is unnecessary to give longer terms in prison to decrease the incidence of crime, instead, changing people’s minds about this problem would be a wiser idea.