Today,the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, advertisement is considered the main tool for selling products. Even, people fail to recognize their actual needs and end up buying things that are not so necessary. It is agreed that increased sales of popular goods are the outcome of powerful advertising. Analysing the advancement of technology and the tendency of human beings to value what they do not have will prove this. Firstly, the usage of technology is progressively on the rise. The marketing firms are making use of this to showcase their newly launched and high demand products through mediums such as television, radio and social media etc. For instance, a person who does not have a premium membership on youtube, may not be able to watch a film without interruption of marketing videos. Furthermore, popular brands use social platforms such as Facebook and Instagram to sell their items. As a result, nobody is able to spend a day without watching a single promotion programme. Secondly, society is divided into different strata based on the wealth of people. Therefore, the poorer have a tendency to follow in the footsteps of affluent ones. For example, a study conducted in America has shown that the majority of the participants value what they do not own than the things they actually possess. Subsequently, they end up buying unnecessary items in order to match the status of the rich. Unfortunately, the organizations which sell appliances exploit this basic human nature. Thus, people will fall into this trap without even their knowledge. To sum up, I reiterate that, advertisement has the power to influence the sale of consumer items. Therefore,it is clear that the number of products sold and the impact of these sponsored programs is directly proportional.