Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been a controversial issue whether people should pay for entrance tickets to museums or not. From my perspective, there will be more benefits than drawbacks if museums are not free for their audiences. There may be some benefits if museums become free for all visitors. When it comes to motivation, from time to time individuals who are under financial problems regret visiting museums due to the price of public places’ tickets. It seems that when people are allowed to visit museums without paying money, they would be more enthusiastic to establish a time during their journey for visiting public places such as museums. It may be more ethical if both wealthy and poor people have the same opportunity to visit museums. However, from my view, it would be more beneficial to charge museums for admission. Although from morality issues, museums should be free for all people, when it comes to financial perspective, preserving traditional art crafts such as valuable paintings and jewelry are expensive. Museums need money to protect these historical materials against thefts. Earning money from selling entrance tickets may enable museums to pay their current costs and tackle their financial problems. Moreover, developing countries that have a low level of industrialization generally invest a lot of money into attracting tourists. They hope to improve their economy by the money that they earn from tourists’ attraction places such as museums. By establishing free museums, these nations are less likely to benefit from tourists. All in all, in my view, countries’ museums should not be free, regarding the points mentioned above, charging people with entrance fee may be more beneficial for the museum and the economy of the host country.