In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything is that try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Youngsters are often taught to work hard in order to accomplish their goals. In few societies, they are always encouraged by saying 'work hard until you succeed'. It, however, has some merits and demerits of such statement. The positive aspects are that youths get focused on their aims and plan their future accordingly. They have passion and enthusiasm filled in themselves. They, moreover, follow the footsteps of their idols such as Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, as well as Ratan Tata who all fulfilled their dreams when they were young. Young ones, for example, place pictures of these personalities in their rooms so that they get inspired and even watch some motivational videos to seek self-motivation. Hence, these are some advantages for children to get their mind fixed on a goal and also gain inspiration. Despite the merits, there are some negative aspects. It mainly leads to depression. This is to say that when a child fails in an attempt, then it can result in unhappiness. As a result they become de-motivated and will be reluctant to try again. Another issue is that they start thinking of their idols who never completed their education qualification. Youths have a mindset where they consider not to get qualified as it does not have a path to success. So, it is disadvantageous to pass such a message to youngsters. To conclude, although there are an equal amount of merits and demerits to the statement, parents need to be cautious and look after their young ones so that they do not go under depression and have a negative mindset.