There should be laws to control the amount and type of violence shown on television programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is a well-known fact that people become what they see. Nowadays, the content of television programs has shifted to more of action and violence genre from family-friendly programs. Consequently, this has resulted in having a negative impact on the overall society therefore, there is an urgent need of regulating the violent content on television programs. To begin with, when children are constantly exposed to programs showing violence it adversely affects their mentality. They start getting angry and irritated on petty issues. Even adults are not spared from the disadvantages of violent content. In some television programs when violence is shown in the form of domestic violence it drastically affects the overall society because sometimes it eventually happens in the real world as well. Further, as people become short-tempered it indirectly results in an increase in crime rate as people are unable to control their emotions and therefore, get into fights. On the contrary, a small amount of violence is necessary for television programs for the awareness of people. These are a few shows that portray violence and its after-effects to aware people of the ways to deal with it. Therefore, some practical knowledge is prominent. In my opinion, the government should take measures to maintain a certain level of the content and the level of violence shown on television programs. It should formulate laws to regularise the type and amount of violent content so that people do not transform into criminals or are unable to deal with their anger problems. To sum up, the officials and the society should come together to promote friendly and knowledgeable content on television programs.