Some people think that it is necessary to use animals for testing medicines intended for human use, while others argue that it is cruel to do that. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Testing of medicines and cosmetics on the animals has been prevelant since a very long time. The animals are tortured and deprived of their natural habitats in order to test these products. While some believe it is cruel to test medicines on the animals others argue that it is the only way in order to save the mankind from ever incraesing diseases and viruses. Its important to analyse the two opinions in order to come to a conclusion. There are people and NGO's who feel that testing of medicines on animals not only deprives them of their natural habitat but also puts them in life threatening situation. For instance, to test certain specific medicines certain species are made to go through various emotions. These animals are over-worked and also at times cut off food so as to test them in extreme conditions. In case an animal cant the take the adverse environment created during these medical tests and tend to lose control, it can also be killed. The life should be valued irrespective of if belongs of to animal or a human. On the contrary, certain people feel that these animal tests are a necessity. Its a long process to come up with a new life saving medicine and in order to expedite the process animal testing is important. Certain members of the medical fraternity feel that most of these clinical trials are safe and are part of a later stage of testing. In the absence of these tests, saving human life from the new and unknown diseases becomes difficult. Hence in order to protect the humanity from life threatening diseases,controlled animal testing is important. In my opinion, looking at the adversities caused by these tests to the animals, animal testing should be banned. During the various stages of these testing, the animals go through various induced emotions which tortures them. Also other testing alternatives such as "In vitro testing" where human cells and tissues are modelled, should be explored.