Online communication is becoming more popular than face-to-face communication in many companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

In many organizations, live internet communication is getting preference over in-person meetings. In my opinion, I think that communicating online brings about more benefits in organizations compared to any disadvantages it might bring. Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages below, I think that there are major advantages to online communication becoming a norm. Firstly, it saves a lot of time and resources which would have been lost otherwise while travelling to and from the meeting venue. That is because roads are busy during work hours around downtown areas which are usually the business hub and finding parking can also be another challenge during peak hours. Secondly, online meetings take away the hassle for assistants, since they don’t have to check with everyone in person and schedule a meeting. They can just send a calendar email and take votes online on whether everyone is available or not. Thirdly, everyone is readily available for meeting during office hours with a click of a button. For instance, last year during the COVID-19 pandemic it became pretty convenient to work from home and attend a meeting on time. Admittedly, there are some minor disadvantages of people not being able to conduct meeting face-to-face. One potential problem is that people can have various interruptions during an online meeting such as having a loud background environment. For example, having a meeting in an office that is undergoing renovation will cause problems in hearing at the receiver’s end. Another minor issue can be an unstable internet connection which will result in poor reception. For instance, a user with poor connectivity might face a lag in audio or video, video may not be of good quality or unavailable entirely. In conclusion, online communication is preferred as it saves a lot of time and resources, takes away the hassle of checking everyone’s schedule and is highly efficient, although there are some insignificant drawbacks.