some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make recycle more of their waste?

It is thought by certain groups of people that the way to make citizens recycle their waste more is that governments should force the law about recycling. Personally, I also think that laws are necessary to control the crowd to recycle more because of the two following reasons. Firstly, people must do what laws say when laws are used in the areas. They cannot do any action which is against the regulations. Subsequently, the policy underneath those laws tends to control the public successfully and cause benefits in those areas. For example, if a country says that their citizens must were a mask during the COVID-19 pandemic, they have to do and this action may lead to a decrease in patients in that country. So, if governments create an act to regulate people to recycle more, it can lead to an increase in recycling someday. Secondly, if the laws do not exist, residents who do not recycle their waste in the first place will not do it forever. As a result, the rate of recycling will only remain constant or decrease gradually in the future. To illustrate, in our society, there are many citizens who have never left their waste which is able to be recycled in a recycle bin. If there is no law for this issue, they will continue their actions with no realization. Therefore, national rules for recycling are needed to make a recycling trend. To sum up, I reckon that regulations are very necessary to standardize people's recycling behaviours. However, our society should manage our waste effectively by ourselves in the first place for our environment.