Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access toinformation about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects theperson who is being accused of the crime.Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that ajury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision aboutthe case.Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Of course, there is no doubt that judges must be able to gain all the evidence which are connected with every prosecution especially if there had been a criminal past connected with any defendant. If judges want to make the right decision they must have all the access to the documents connected to the judicial process.,,, Otherwise the jury will make a wrong decision during the court due to not having enough evidence, Also nobody will trust that jury in terms of making the right decision or making a legal judgment about any criminal case. I believe that of course every criminal or person who has broken the law in the past will never want that any judge will be able to read and be informed about his criminal past, so that would help that person to lie to the jury in the court, and of course to change the attitude of juries to positive towards him in order that he would be able to avoid of going to jail. Those kind of persons, who has broken the laws in their past and did crime are very dangerous. So I strongly believe that the law which not allows the jury to have information about the accused's criminal past must be changed as soon as possible which will result in judges be well aware of the details of court case in terms of having all evidence to make a right judgement in the court., Besides it will also help them to understand the motivations, circumstances and consequences of every crime and prevent the community from any kind of crimes and through every criminal to jail. So to conclude my decision once again I would say, that I strongly believe that the law must be changed and juries must have access to all the evidence connected to every criminal justice process.