Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree

A majority of countries across the globe use imprisonment as punishment for any illegal activity conducted by their citizens, however, a deeper perspective is required to understand the factors that create criminals. Eradication of the crime and not the criminal should be the preferred approach. I strongly believe that if proper measures are taken at the right time many unlawful activities can be prevented. It is noticed that the judicial system of most nations send the law breachers to jail for a time period varying according to the severity of the actions committed. Sometimes, this period of confinement is accompanied by rigorous hard work. All this is done to inculcate a sense of fear amongst the wrongdoer and inhibit him from repeating his actions in future. Unfortunately, this approach does not seem to be meeting the expected outcomes. On the other hand, as the saying goes - nip the evil in the bud, can be a more dependable philosophy in these circumstances. Lack of awareness, education, exposure to the norms of civilised society are some of the factors that push most people towards crime. The company of books, better education, creating self-reliance are some measures that can go a long way in urging the youth not to deviate from the legal path. To conclude, I will emphasize the need for providing means of earning a livelihood, being independent and occupied are better ways of reducing the crime rate in society instead of corporal punishments to the law fugitives.