some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, waste management is a grave concern encountered by most nations. It is said that residential garbage management is inadequate. Hence, to solve it efficiently, authorities have to take strict legal action. I partially agree with it. In the upcoming paragraphs, I will put forth my views in detail. To commence with, the laws are necessary to ascertain the responsibilities among individuals. To elaborate, even though people are aware of the after-effects of unsafe waste disposal, they continue such unhealthy habits as a convenience. Therefore, strict proceedings are mandatory to inculcate cautiousness and responsibility in individuals. For example, according to a reputed journal in Mumbai, in the year 2017, a 40% increase in the proper home recycling achieved with the implementation of strong rules. Thus, it is apparent that effective and powerful rules could change the attitude of people to such activities. At the same time, even if a strict law is implemented, proper people awareness is the need of this hour to tackle this concern perfectly. To explain, despite the fact that laws are mandatory, they could only have prevailed efficiently with individual participation. In other words, recycling campaigns and counselling programme initiated and implemented by local authorities could help it. For instance, according to the State pollution control board of Delhi, 12 waste management laws are in an inert state due to a lack of community's contribution. Thereby, from the above-mentioned facts it is evident that, apart from laws, government and people collaboration is mandatory for a venture to become successful. Hence, to conclude, I would like to reiterate my opinion that both legislations and awareness programmes are necessary for effective house waste management.