Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that authorities should increase railways rather than roads. While I agree that railways may benefit the residents of countryside and make contribution to a healthier environment rather than roads, I believe that as far as quiet atmosphere and time is concerned growth in roads seems more satisfying. On the one hand, raising the number of railways can be considered as a positive trend. First, when it comes to rural people, regarding the size of rails which do not required large space, building railways in mountainous areas which are generally located in countryside is easier than roads. As a result, the inhabitants of these places have easy access to cities and they can transport more conveniently. Secondly, from environmently friendly perspective, building railways has resounding effects on decreasing the air pollution, generally trains are able to transport a large number of people in comparison with cars. This may decrease the cars’ usage. As a result, governments by investigating in railways can decrease the cars emissions which lead to dropping the weather contaminants. On the other hand, when it comes to the the inhabitants of big cities, their preference is building of more roads. Although the construction of railways may enable the residents of urban areas to transport to other cities and places better, regarding time, many residents of megacities regret using trains because they find it very tiring and time consuming. Generally the movement of trains is very slow which has a speed limitation. So travelers may spend long time to get to their destination. For instance, by driving your personal car, it takes about 5 hours to get to Tehran from Esfahan whereas when it comes to trains it may take about 10 hours. Moreover, generally trains are very crowded and noisy. The citizens of crowded areas who are generally seeking for silent and peace may not find trains a relaxing place. Therefore, they are less enthusiastic about using trains. All in all, increasing railways may benefit rural areas. However, building more roads in the center of cities probably is more practical.