Now a days, in urban cities, a lot of people prefer living in large apartment blocks. Write an essay discussing the advantages and disadvantages of living in large apartment blocks. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Living in skyscrapers is the most encouraging standard for this contemporary generation. Tier-2 & 3 city crowd prefer to stay in high-rise buildings to enjoy its positive outcomes. In this essay, I will discuss both merits and demerits and provide relevant examples to prove why benefits are more than drawbacks from my real-life understandings. High-rise towers have some issues which can be ignored in my opinion and also can be solved with proper planning. The primary one being, there is an increase in population density than expected because of many families living in a confined area. Beijing is a vertically planned city, for instance, has recorded a high pollution index due to a significant number of families living in a small geography. Adding to this, depletion of natural resources occurs due to heavy consumption which eventually leads to dissatisfaction among residents. The groundwater availability in a confined area, for example, will be sufficient for a limited number of people as per the research conducted by the renowned geological UK University. On the other hand, there are two important merits of these vertically constructed towers. A positive trend is observed in socialising and building relationships among gated apartment community people. A survey conducted by an Indian cultural artefacts institute, to illustrate, has revealed that families living in communities have recorded with high happiness index when compared with distributed colonies. Apart from this, the contribution towards environmental protection in the form of stopping deforestation because of these skyscrapers is an irrefutable benefit to mother nature. Australia has recorded the highest rainfall during the last three consecutive years, for example, because of its vast and distributed forest area. In conclusion, many citizens across the world are preferring to live in high-rise buildings because of their greater benefits. There are some drawbacks because of the apartment culture, however, the merits of this trend is having stupendous benefits to individuals and the environment altogether.