In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In this modern world, longevity is rising on average due to the developed economies and improved medical support systems. While this is leading to a few troubles for individuals and the public, there are solutions to overcome these complications. In this essay, I will outline both issues and the possible measures to decrease the impact of increased life expectancy. There are two important problems to outline because of enhanced life durations. To begin with, individuals who are old and not in a position to sustain themselves without support are facing financial problems. The earning capabilities will come to an end after a certain age of retirement, for instance, an old man at an age of 80 doesn't hold any physical or mental strengths to earn themselves. Apart from this, this has become a tremendous burden to society to support these individuals with different pension schemes which eventually burdens the public with additional tax implications. The Indian government pension scheme for the retired population across the country, for example, is expensing 2500 crores every month. However, there are possible solutions to counter these hurdles. New government policies to be introduced in such a way that the responsibility of elderly people to be taken care of by their respective family members. The recent scheme of "family welfare for elders" implemented in the UK, for example, is the benchmark for all countries across the globe to dilute the burden. Adding to this, In my opinion, aged people are considered to be an asset, involving them in community welfare to educate younger generation always adds benefit to the public. As per the international longevity centre, for instance, elderly people are not at all burden to communities, moreover, they are the dividend to societies. In conclusion, the contemporary world has improved the average life of the population with many advancements in science and technology. While I agree with the problems because of this phenomenon, there are absolute measures that can be strategised to diminish these issues.