Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that his has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and in society?

Nowadays, shopping has been increasingly popular as a time off activity. Although some people believe that has pros and cons. This essay will shed light on some positive and negative consequences of this activity. Firstly, it is believed that shopping has become every time more popular due to the increase in marketing activity in different forms but the one which has a greater impact in in recent years is social media. Advertisement campaigns reached over 50% of the general population in matter of days according with the latest marketing statistics. As far the effects of its popularity are concerned, it is said that society has become overshadow Change the form of the verb overshadowed show examples by the addictive shopping behaviors of the individuals. In recent times, family prioritize shopping over spending quality time with together. Furthermore, this behaviour has created massive marital problems as people reached a point where they accumulated a great deal of debt for their families. On the other hand, people have argued that buying goods in their free time, produces a happy effect on the individual who purchased an item which was desired. However, it has been proven that this happiness effect last rather a short period of time and often produces unsatisfaction after the days go by. To sum up, although shopping while in leisure time might not only have a positive effect but also negative impacts in someone life, the reality is that the negative effects overweigh the cons when done excessively often and without need. Society should focus on purchasing items whenever there is a real need for it rather than making it an every weekend activity.