Some people think crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Several factors may be taken into consideration when people talk about why some commit crimes, is through matters, such as social inequality, economic crisis, life experience and so on. In my opinion, the motivation of crime includes not only social problems, but also human nature. The high crime rates in cities are usually regarded as the consequence of acute social differences possibly in salaries, living conditions, social welfare and so on. The gap between the upper class and the poor is growing deeper, which leads to fragmentation and antisocial activities. It is widely believed that the homeless, mentally ill and those who are down on their luck are more likely to commit crimes. Poor individuals usually live a very hard life and the tragic situations may breed hatred and anger. What is more, compared with general people the cost of crime for them is lower, because most of them are unemployed and they also don’t have much concern about their family. However, human nature cannot be ignored; that is to say, some are born to commit crimes because of their genes. Furthermore, they have weak empathy and behave indifferently, which means that they have a lower sense of morality and self-discipline compared with ordinary people, especially when they have lawless or scary thoughts. An example some Professors in human biology or medical science once claimed is that those with some different genes are more likely to grow up as potential criminals if they never receive proper guidance and education. This circumstance is very common in why some antisocial crimes are committed. In conclusion, my view is that social issues, such as poverty and social situation, may lead to higher crime rates. Nevertheless, we should also pay attention to human nature and try to build a more harmonious society.