Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Residing in a foreign country and having to converse in their language can cause a major social and practical issue. In my opinion, I agree that communicating in a foreign language will not be very efficient as a lot will be lost in translation and one would feel unwelcomed while participating in social gatherings. Speaking a foreign language in an unknown country is not very practical as it would be difficult for people to understand what you are saying. In other words, you would have difficulty arranging your words to send your message across, resulting in miscommunication and time wastage. For instance, it would be very challenging to give instruction to a cab driver about a certain destination as it would be difficult for him to understand half of what you are saying with a foreign accent. Similarly, almost all basic public dealings would have such issue. Conversing in a foreign language in a foreign land can also be socially stressful as one would feel unacceptable at most social gatherings and parties. One of the major purposes of living abroad is to expand your social circle and have unique experiences, which is not possible if one ’s not very comfortable with the language to hold a meaningful conversation with people. As a result, one might feel stressed and lonely which can potentially lead to serious health issues in the future. In conclusion, I would say that residing in a foreign land where you are stuck with a foreign language can have serious practical and social difficulties. It would be helpful if local people be more considerate and welcoming towards foreigners who might be facing difficultly with the language.