Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is sometimes thought that sharing information with others as much as you can is good, others tend that some reasons for sharing information freely include rapid development of science and benefit of humanity, people believe it should not be solicited without pay because information needs finance and security. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this statement and provide a logical conclusion. Scientific breakthroughs can be achieved faster when people don’t need to have the financial backing to acquire the necessary knowledge. There are many smart scientists who don’t have the funds to acquire important information to complete their research. However, when the information is free, this is not a barrier to their progress. For instance, information on cancer can be accessed freely on the internet, and this allowed Dr James Cornick, a poor physician in Ireland, to come up with a pill that helps cure skin cancer and benefits people around the world. Even though in this situation free knowledge is beneficial, it isn’t true in all cases. Much information requires payment to be produce and support. Also, certain types of information in the wrong hands can be destructive for society. There are many professionals whose jobs are to produce research and new concepts. When they are not paid for this work, they can no longer generate science. In addition, some of this research deals with dangerous fields such as nuclear physics. For instance, last year an act of terror occurred because some criminals were able to learn how to make explosives using free information on the internet. This clearly should not be permissible, and for this reason alone, not all information should be free to access for everyone. In conclusion, distributing information free of charge can help in certain aspects but can also be dangerous to society. Although some people believe that we should give as much knowledge as possible, I strongly believe the opposite. People should be careful to underestimate the value and power of knowledge.